Thursday, June 30, 2011


My new zombie horror novel, The Dead Boys, will be FREE for the next thirty days. I do hope you'll fit it into your summer reading schedule.

Just click on the cover art above, or go to and search the book's title. During checkout, enter the coupon code TF99M (not case-sensitive) and get the book FREE. 

It's available in every imaginable ebook format, so you'll easily be able to read it on your device of choice. 

If you read it, I'd be honored if you took the time to write a short review on Smashwords. No need for anything in-depth; just a couple of sentences on why it moved you/disgusted you/bored you to death is fine. I'd be much obliged. 

And as always, I'd love to hear your comments. Just contact me through this blog or at 

Many thanks, and happy reading. 

Monday, June 27, 2011

It's Out!

Now available at Click on the cover art to go to the book's homepage. There you can read descriptions, sample chapters, and of course download the book.

A short description:


Bill and Constance are young, spirited, broke...and just married. In lieu of an expensive honeymoon, they trek to a cabin in the Connecticut woods for a weekend of solitude and celebration. 


At the campsite, a bizarre man calling himself Septimus Smith appears from nowhere, full of strange proclamations and violent threats. Taking no chances, Bill and Constance run for their lives. 


But Septimus won't let them go. It seems the newlyweds have stumbled into the middle of a strange game, played by beings with abilities that seem...unnatural. 

Abilities like raising the dead. 

And, to the young couple's horror...

...the dead are coming. 

The Dead Boys is a surreal, disturbing addition to the zombie genre, filled with unforgettable images, vivid characters, and of course, more guts than you can shake a severed limb at. 

I See You Shiver in Antici—

Just sent my next horror novel, The Dead Boys, to Should be available within a couple of hours.

Curwen, Curwen! Rah rah rah! 

Saturday, June 25, 2011

In the Cave

Trapped in the editing cave. Plenty of coffee, Frosted Flakes, and crippling neurotic insecurity to keep me company. 

Still deciding on a title. A friend showed me this title-generation trick: write a bunch of of horror-related words (blood, fear, rage, dead, death, demon, vampire, etc.) and pair them at random. So...Blood Death? Demon Rage? Demon Fear? Dead Rage? Rage Blood Fear Death? 

Hmm. I'll make a bigger list of words–hopefully with some actually relevant to the book–and see what happens. 

Or I could just go surfing. But that would mean neglecting my work...and that would make me a dirty birdie. A. Very. Dirty. Birdie. 

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Now On Twitter, Just Like the Rest of the Known Universe

It's Out!

"The horror...the horror...."
Knife Lake is up on It'll be available on, amazon, ibooks, diesel, and other sites within a couple of weeks if the gods smile.


John Fairbrother: prophet, madman, magus. After years in limbo, he's returned with a mission:

Collect sacrifices. Human sacrifices.

Artemis Costa has an easy life. With no material wants, she can afford to drift through the days...until a violent encounter with John forces her to join his bloody crusade.

You see, John needs her help.

He can't create the Knife Lake alone...

Graphic, shocking, and surreal, Knife Lake is a full-throttle horror novel in the tradition of Jack Ketchum, Edward Lee, and Richard Laymon. 

Available for a budget-coddling $2.99...BUT, all readers of this blog can get it FREE. Just order the book from smashwords, and enter the coupon code VE46K during checkout. Voila--over 60,000 words of horror are released slavering through your hard drive for not a single red cent.

You can get the book here. Or just click on the book cover at the top of this post.

It's available in every format imaginable, so you'll find one that's right for your reading device. Feel free to share the coupon code (good until the 23rd of July) with anyone you'd like. And please email me at with your thoughts--even if you thought it sucked. I'd love to hear from you.

Monday, June 20, 2011

The Final Cut

Revision = butchery

Knife Lake will be FINISHED today. Just a few more edits, some formatting adjustments, and off it goes to Smashwords. Freshness guaranteed! Perfect for grilling!

Sales forecast: three copies every six months. Gotta be realistic.

I'll post the teaser copy later today. 

Saturday, June 18, 2011


Shield your corneas
I found ANOTHER novel manuscript on an old hard drive. I wrote it on a now-obsolete Dell, complete with eye-searing VGA monitor, in the kitchen of my apartment in San Francisco. This was back in...jeez, 1999 or so.

Bad news: quality of said manuscript is...well, bad. I'll do some revisions, but its chances at seeing the light of day are slim.

Better news: Knife Lake revisions are coming along nicely. Had to rewrite the ending, but the process was surprisingly easy. Working on a 100-word or less teaser for the cover, which is harder than it sounds.

And in case you're interested, here's the book's first sentence:

"Before she saw the beheaded woman, Artemis painted a red lake."

Kind of sets the tone. Not for the gore-sensitive!

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Cover Me, Even Though I'm Most Certainly Not Going In

Here's the cover. I'd make it bigger, but this is the actual size you'd see if you were browsing on amazon, ibooks, etc.  Book will be available sometime in the next month or two.

And I just found out that there's a real Knife Lake! I had no idea. It's somewhere in the Wendigo-dense backwoods of Canada.

The Ransackin' o' the Hard Drive

I just found some interesting stories/fragments/75% complete novels on my hard drive. I wrote this stuff over a decade ago. Mostly shit, but hey--I consider it the evidence of a lengthy learning process.

Included in aforementioned shit is a novel titled The Dead...something or other. I think it was originally The Dead Wood, but scrapped that after someone pointed out it sounded like part of an impotence joke.
So it remains the The Dead (something or other), and despite title woes I have high hopes for its eventual publication.

In the meantime, back to edits on Knife Lake. I'd post the cover, but stupid Google blogging software won't let me upload it. The cover's designer, Sam Rippey, who is a monkey but a talented monkey, has had similar problems. So you might not see this effing thing until the book comes out. Thanx, Google!

Wednesday, June 15, 2011


My name's Jon. I write horror. My first book, Knife Lake, will be available for download really soon. It's a surreal, bloody, extreme tale in the vein of Edward Lee and Richard Laymon.

I do hope you enjoy it.

Other than that....

I really like fishing. I grew up on a lake. I faint at the sight of blood. I have a cat with no teeth.

More later, after I uncurl my brain.